Your Nationality
Travel Destination
When travelling to India as a citizen of New Zealand, you must meet the following terms and requirements concerning visa, immigration procedures or maximum duration of stay.

Passport required

Passports and other documents accepted for entry must be valid on arrival.

Admission and Transit Restrictions

Visitors with a non-machine readable passport are not allowed to enter.
> This does not apply to visitors with a valid visa on a non-machine readable passport, who are allowed to enter.

Visa required

except for Passengers with an Overseas Citizen of India" card or booklet. Visa required, except for Passengers with a "Person of Indian Origin" card. Visa Issuance: Visa required, except for Nationals of New Zealand with a normal passport arriving at Ahmedabad (AMD), Amritsar (ATQ), Bengaluru (BLR), Chennai (MAA), Delhi (DEL), Gaya (GAY), Goa (GOI), Hyderabad (HYD), Jaipur (JAI), Kochi (COK), Kolkata (CCU), Lucknow (LKO), Mumbai (BOM), Thiruvananthapuram (TRV), Tiruchirapalli (TRZ), or Varanasi (VNS) can obtain a single-entry e-Tourist visa before departure at for a maximum stay of 30 days. Passengers must [READ MORE]

Additional Information

Indian law does not permit dual nationality for nationals of India. [READ MORE]
Passengers arriving from Guinea, Liberia, Mali and Sierra Leone at Bangalore (BLR), Chennai (MAA),Cochin (COK), Delhi (DEL), Hyderabad (HYD), Kolkata (CCU) or Mumbai (BOM) are subject to enhanced passenger screening and medical checks.
U visas are no longer issued to those who have been granted Overseas Citizenship of India (OCI) status. [READ MORE]
Passengers with a Registration Certificate/Residential Permit must also travel with the supporting documents allowing them to stay in India, e.g. PIO.
Indian visa stickers have no seal/signature from the issuing authority. Not applicable to PIO card holders.
Nationals of New Zealand being of Pakistani origin (those born in Pakistan or whose parents or grandparents were born in Pakistan) holding multiple entry Tourist Visas (type T), with a validity ranging from above 3 months and up to 10 years, are required to have at least 60 days between visits. Those wishing to re-enter before the 60 days have expired must contact an Indian mission abroad to obtain permission. [READ MORE]
Visa extensions possible, except for "T" (tourist) visas and Transit visas, by applying at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Not applicable to PIO card holders.
Valid visas in expired passports are still acceptable, provided accompanied by a valid passport of the same nationality of the expired passport.
Holders of visas that specifically state the city/airport of entry must enter India at the specified city/airport. Not applicable to PIO card holders.
Nationals of New Zealand, belonging to a Tourist Group [READ MORE] Not applicable to PIO card holders.
Restricted/Protected Areas permits: a permit is required for foreigners wishing to visit the following: [READ MORE]


Visitors holding tourist or business visas must hold return/onward tickets. Not applicable to PIO card holders. Not applicable to holders of multiple entry visa, issued for validity period of at least 1 year. Not applicable to holders of any other type of visa.

The information provided does not claim general validity. Use it at your own risk. Data © IATA.